Save money by performing car maintenance yourself

February 9, 2008

I believe that the only folks that are still arguing if we are in a recession or not are those that are not affected by it. For the rest of us in the lower/middle class, recession is already a reality. Many of us feel the effects by realizing the cost of living going up; barely making car, college and mortgage bills every month; working extra hard to not lose our jobs (if we haven’t already); and simply put: struggling to get by.

I’ve never been more aware of how much things cost than lately. No matter how much I cut back on leisure — mostly going out and shopping — I am not able to save money. So any chance I get to cut corners, I do.

I’ll use any coupons I can get my hands on when buying groceries. I don’t drive to friends’ house as often if they live too far away. I also pack my own lunch in the morning as opposed to buying it at work. But the bills pile up too much for these tactics to make any difference.

Because I simply couldn’t afford it, today I was again forced to break the appointment with my mechanic to get the fluids changed in my car. I don’t have $170 just laying around. But I definitely knew I shouldn’t put off the matter another day. I drive under constant fear during my hour-long commute to work. You would to if you heard of the firework noises coming from under my hood.

So I decided to consult the car’s manual to see if I could perform the necessary fluid maintenance myself. Turned out that besides the appropriate liquids you must purchase from you local auto body shop, all you need additionally is a rag and a funnel. This alone allowed me to address all my 98 Honda Accord’s fluid needs for fraction of the cost to have someone else do it.

Despite the fact that it is absurdly simple, I am not going to pretend to be an expert and teach you how to do it in a step by step process. Today being my first time and all. But I will link to sites that do so.

I can’t urge you enough to give it a shot yourself. It both saves you a lot of money and you car will run a lot smoother. Also, the high that you get from the sense of accomplishment is unparalleled.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Best of luck!

4 Responses to “Save money by performing car maintenance yourself”

  1. Damien Says:

    Great article! It would definitely do us all good to be more self-sufficient. What’s under my car’s hood is such a complete mystery to me, it’s nice to know that simple maintenance can be tackled quite easily. Enjoy your savings and sense of accomplishment!


  2. How you doing Damien,

    I wanted to wait a few days before responding to you. You know, just in case my car stopped in the middle of the street, and I was giving the wrong advice to my readers! But everything’s as good as if a mechanic had taken care of it. Except it was $170 cheaper!

  3. Baekho Says:

    Thanks for the links, Hard Knock. I don’t know much about cars (never having owned one…!), but I have a feeling they’ll come in handy for me or somebody I know sooner or later.

    I totally agree with you about the recession; nobody I know who pays their own bills denies it. We’re not even entering a recession; it’s here and we’re stuck in it. We are so in a recession it’s not even funny.


  4. Oh please! I don’t know anything of cars either. I was just strapped for cash, and lucked out by attempting something successfully.

    As for recession, it’s a relative term. For those of us just getting by, these times seem like a recession because we feel its effects collectively.
    Understandably, those not as hard pressed think we are entering it probably only if they see their stock portfolio lose value.
    For the rest, merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

