Dark and ugly as ever, however…

January 7, 2008

It’s amazing how this absurd anti-dark skinned mentality is so prevalent across the globe. Whitening creams are huge in China and India, among both girls and guys. It’s an abhorrent practice from the cosmetic company’s part. They take as much advantage possible of these insecurities created by the media, sometime in the most detestable manner. Look at this ridiculous commercial from South Asia where the girl is self conscious of her tan hand!

There are many resources on the Internet that explain this screwy phenomenon. But I’m not in the mood to preach, solve problems or raise concerns. But perhaps inspire? Actually, I just want an excuse to play this song that actually sounds real good. I heard it play on the radio today when I was running to veggie-friendly Baja Fresh during lunch. It’s India Arie featuring Akon, “I am not my hair.” I know you’ll enjoy it.

7 Responses to “Dark and ugly as ever, however…”

  1. Baekho Says:

    First of all, I adore Baja Fresh. I eat there at least once a week, usually. ;)

    Secondly, thanks for the very cool song. I find most attitudes toward skin color to be absolutely bizarre. The whole “pale = pretty” thing is fairly rooted in many Asian countries; it’s only recently in some areas that people are starting to adopt the Western fascination with tanned skin—but of course that’s a pretty recent phenomenon, which began once wealthy people started taking vacations that allowed them to come back sporting a tan. Until the 20th century, pale was in fashion in Europe and America (because pale skin was also associated with wealth—a white complexion meant you didn’t have to go work in the fields).

    Speaking as somebody who finds both dark and light skin attractive, I think the whole mentality at work here is weird. Skin is skin! There are far more important things to worry about, it’s strange people get so hung up on pigmentation. Maybe that will change at some point.


  2. Hi Baekho,

    Nice to hear from you. I love baja fresh too man. If only all fast food place were like that.

    I attribute that whole dark skin/light skin crap to colonization. Many people don’t. What can I say?

    Anyways, on a lighter note, I have a little pop quiz for you. Do you know where I got the headline for this post from? Let me know if you need a hint at all.

  3. Baekho Says:

    Wherever the dark/light skin thing came from originally, it’s clear that colonization definitely made it far, far worse.

    I actually don’t know where you got the headline from, although it sounds really familar!


  4. I know I’m corny. But it’s from a biggie song.

    …heart throb, never, black and ugly as ever
    however, I stay Gucci down to the socks

  5. Baekho Says:

    That‘s where it’s from! I knew it was from a song, but I couldn’t place it.

    Biggie. Man. Hard to believe 1994 was 14 years ago! :o


  6. […] after strolling a few hundred feet out of their air-conned hotel lobby.  The reason: dark skin is considered ugly here in Asia, and therefore, white skin is very desirable, like in this ridiculous ad that […]

  7. Lulu Says:

    Yea its gods fault for us being so dark thats y ihate his fucking guts


Leave a Reply

